An unexpected challenge

Anybody who knows Sophie and Sawyer can tell you they aren’t exactly the quietest children in the world.  But really, what children are?  Kids are loud.  Plain and simple.  I knew when we moved into a third floor apartment our neighbors might not like it.  But I didn’t think we would get a formal complaint so quickly!

“The resident below you contacted the office regarding excessive jumping and extremely loud noise coming from your apartment.  This is just a courtesy reminder that there is someone underneath you, and we have to send a reminder email when someone complains.  Thank you for your time.”

Beth got that email at about 5pm.  We know our kids are loud, and even though we do a decent job of keeping them under control, we figured that we could try and do a better job.  At about 7pm we were on a Skype video chat with my mom and dad and we got a knock on the door.

It was our neighbor.  He said, “I don’t know what you guys are doing in there, but I was hoping you could keep it down.”  I apologized and told him we would try to keep the kids quieter.  For the rest of the night I was nervous about every little sound the kids made.  I didn’t want to disturb our neighbor.

But the more I thought about it, the more I thought screw it.  Kids are kids.  There is no way we can keep them from being loud.  Sawyer is one year old, so when he runs around, he has a tendency to stomp his feet.  It’s not like we are blaring music at 2am or anything!

It will be interesting to see how many complaints we get in the three months we are here.  I’ll try to keep the kids as quiet as I can, but I’m not going to go overboard.  If downstairs neighbor has a problem, so be it.

Leave a Reply

