Missing a social life!

A trip to the YMCA wouldn’t be complete without stopping to throw a penny in the Durham Convention Center waterfall.

Develop a routine and then stick to it as much as possible.  That’s the number one piece of advice that I got from people when I told them that I was jumping from a full time job to a stay at home dad.  Sophie, Sawyer, and I certainly have our routine down pat!

The kids are generally up by 6:40 a.m. every day.  Then it’s breakfast, watch a little Mickey Mouse, and head out of the house.  We either go to the park, go to the library for story time and crafts, or I go to the YMCA to exercise.  Then we are back home around 11 for lunch and naps.  Around 4:00, when they are both awake, we either run an errand, go for a walk, or visit another park.  Then dinner and kids bed time at about 8:30.  Finally wake up the next day and do it all over again!

Don’t get me wrong – today is Monday and I’m not at work.  So being a stay at home dad does certainly have it’s perks!  But I am starting to miss having a social life.  I’m in my fourth week of doing this and unless you count small talk with a WalMart checkout person, I don’t think I’ve had an actual conversation with anyone in Durham.

Luckily this is where Facebook, email, and Skype can help out.  The world is headed to the point where you can still have somewhat of a social life without leaving your living room and actually talking to anyone.  I’m living proof!

I am enjoying my time as a stay at home dad.  I think the kids are enjoying having me around too, so I don’t regret my decision at all.  But believe it or not, there are times I miss actually interacting with adults on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

