Quick visit from my parents

Sawyer, Beth, Sophie, my mom, and myself taking a quick break while exploring the Duke Gardens botanical center.

My mom and dad made the drive to Durham this weekend for a quick visit to see the kids.  They got here on Friday and left early Monday morning, so we didn’t have a whole lot of time.  But we packed a lot of sightseeing in!

One of the things we did that has been on my to-do list for a while is the Morehead Planetarium.  It is on the University of North Carolina campus in Chapel Hill.  We went to a nice kids show called One World, One Sky starring Big Bird and Elmo.  Sophie and Sawyer were in awe of all of the stars!

We followed up by going swimming back at our apartment.  Durham recorded record heat both days my parents were here when the temperature got as high as 105 degrees.  But we didn’t let that stop us from having fun outdoors!

Sunday morning we visited the Sarah P. Duke Botanical Gardens located on the Duke University Campus.  Duke Gardens is about 30 acres of nature trails that are beautifully landscaped with trees, flowers, water fountains, and bridges.  I wish it wasn’t so hot out so we could have explored more, because it was really neat.

Sawyer was a little unsure of the tire swing at Pullen Park in Raleigh.

We finished our weekend by going out for dinner in Raleigh and then to one of the better parks in the area called Pullen Park.  It has recently been remodeled and has a lot of new playground equipment that the kids really enjoy.  They even have a train, so we had to take a train ride!

While we were leaving the park, one of the local news stations was doing a story on the heat and what people are doing during the record heat wave.  They happen to pull me aside to ask me a few questions, so I made my television debut on the Raleigh news that night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “Quick visit from my parents

  1. Love Sawyer’s expression on the tire swing, ha! You are doing so great with the blog, Chris! I love being able to see what you guys are up to 🙂 Tell Beth hi for me!!

Leave a Reply

