Farewell Durahm, ready to come home for a week

This was the cause of our stress for the past week.

Without a doubt, this has been one of the most stressful weeks of my life.  But I am happy to say it looks like we are going to be able to come home ontime as planned.

As I said in my last blog entry, our Kia Sedona minivan overheated last Friday night and the engine is shot.  We traded it in and had about $4,000 worth of negative equity to roll over into a new loan.  I accidentally let my Iowa drivers license expire on my birthday about two weeks ago, so it looked like we weren’t going to be able to sell the van or buy a new car because of the license.  But luckily they were able to use my passport.

Anyway, it’s about midnight and Beth and I are just about done packing the new Toyota RAV4.  We just got it tonight, but so far we really like it.  It’s a lot smaller than the van, but it gets a lot better gas mileage.

Tomorrow starts the long trek home.  We will be staying the night at my parents house in Tennessee before driving the rest of the way on Sunday.

I think we are all excited to be coming home for a week to spend some time with friends.  The hardest part of being on the road is being away from friends and family, so that makes the time we do spend with them even more special.

Last weekend we went out to Kids Fest at Duke Homestead. Sophie is very into rainbows so she quickly chose the rainbow unicorn for her face.

Looking back on our time here in Durham, I’d say it went pretty well.  With the mountains on one side of the state and the beach on the other, there were a lot of cool weekend trips.  If we were closer to either one, I think the time in Durham would have been even better.

The things I’ll miss the most about the Raleigh/Durham area are the parks.  They have a ton of really good quality parks.  The kids and I spent a lot of mornings and afternoons exploring the area.  I’m hopeful our next home in Fort Pierce, Florida can compete.

Here are a few pictures from our last week in Durham.

 

 

2 responses to “Farewell Durahm, ready to come home for a week

  1. Nice car selection, Kelleys!!! :). Happy for u!! The Putnam Hotel awaits you!!!

  2. Holy Moly!!!!!!!! I’ll say, what a stressful week and I wasn’t even there to experience it all. Well, a NEW CAR is Great!!!!!!!!!!! Wonderful Photo’s of the Sophia and Sawyer!!!!!!!! Man, are they getting smarter and cuter and growing by the minute. Take a DEEP BREATH and this too shall pass. It just gives you more experience. Your trip to Tennessee will be calming and out to IOWA to see you friends will do you all a world of good.
    Congratulations on your new Job Find!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHRIS, THOUGH A BIT LATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I Love You AllOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO
    Grammie Stanton

Leave a Reply

