Take me out to the ballgame

hohokamOne of the reasons I was looking forward to coming out to Phoenix at this time of year is spring training baseball.  The Cubs play their spring training games in Mesa, which is about 15 minutes from where we live.  Today Sophie and I attended our first game.

The game had a very minor league feel to me.  Hohokam Stadium reminded me quite a bit of John O’Donnell Stadium in the Quad Cities.  Maybe it was the crowd of just over 4,000 people.  Or perhaps it was because most of the players who played are fresh from the minors.  I think the only position player who played today and will be starting opening day for the Cubs is Darwin Barney.

hohokam2But it didn’t matter who played today, because it was just nice spending the afternoon with Sophia in perfect weather watching baseball.  We sat two rows behind the Cubs dugout.  Talk about great seats!  Unfortunately we got there after batting practice, so we didn’t get any autographs.  But an usher was nice enough to give Sophie a ball that was used during BP.  She was pretty happy about that!

I’m proud to say today was the first time she has ever made it through an entire baseball game without leaving early.  However, she only deserves partial credit since I had to resort to Netflix on my phone to keep her occupied for the last couple of innings.  I know she only likes going to these baseball games because of the treats she gets, but hopefully a little baseball will rub off on her too.

IMG_04132013-02-28_13-09-00_252

2 responses to “Take me out to the ballgame

  1. BARBARA M. STANTON

    Sounds like a great way to spend a great day together! I like Sophia’s rainbow head band.!!!!!!!!Great Photo’s of the Field. Great Photo’s of Dad and Sophia.
    Love Grammie S.

  2. BARBARA M. STANTON

    I like that photo of Chris and Sophia on the top of the rock!

Leave a Reply

