Too chilly for Slide Rock in Sedona

I am at the top trying to come up with the courage to brave the frigid water.

I am at the top trying to come up with the courage to brave the frigid water.

One of the most popular things to do in the Sedona area of Arizona is to slide down Slide Rock.  Slide Rock is basically a natural waterslide.  It’s a neat little state park just north of Sedona and we decided to take a little day trip to visit.

Becky and her friend, Val, decided to join us.  I was prepared to experience Slide Rock.  That was until I felt the water temperature.  I read online that the water was “frigid” in the Spring, but I thought I would be able to toughen it out.  Unfortunately, I was wrong.

IMG_1167Frigid is accurate, but I would describe the temperature as numbingly cold.  I managed to get in almost up to my waist, but I couldn’t psych myself up enough to take the plunge.  We walked around the sliding area for a good half hour before we saw anybody brave enough to attempt it.  After a couple college guys did it, a few more joined.  Not very many people were brave enough.

After a quick picnic lunch we did a mini hike on the rim trail of Slide Rock.  We were going to do a bigger hike, but we didn’t think the kids would be able to tolerate it.  So after the half hour hike, we visited downtown Sedona for a little ice cream before heading home.

Leave a Reply

