Cruising along with “Daddy school”

This week we are talking about the value of coins.  I generally have one big topic every week and then mix in refreshers of previous topics.

This week we are talking about the value of coins. I generally have one big topic every week and then mix in refreshers of previous topics.

Shortly after we started traveling in May of 2012 I launched “Daddy school.”  Back then my focus was pretty much limited to teaching Sophia the alphabet.  Once she learned her ABCs we branched out a bit to upper and lower case and then writing the ABCs.  The goal was to make sure she was at or above the level expected when a student enters kindergarten.

After we made the decision to keep traveling and home school kindergarten, Daddy school took on a whole new level.  Well, at first it was “Katie school.”  While we were in Denver, Katie worked with Sophie on the normal kindergarten curriculum.  Katie has experience in the Elementary Education field, so it was nice having somebody who knows what they are doing in charge of Sophie’s learning.  Unfortunately, when Katie wasn’t able to come back after Christmas, the homeschooling of kindergarten fell to me.  Daddy school was back.

Kindergartners learn a heck of a lot more than the ABCs, I can tell you that!  Last week we were working on the decomposing of numbers  in the base ten format.  What is that you ask?  Well, I had to get a bit of a refresher too.  (14 = one group of ten and four left over)

One activity that motivates Sophia is when I sell her some Dots.  If she gives me the correct amount, she eats it.  If not, I eat it.

One activity that motivates Sophia is when I sell her some Dots. If she gives me the correct amount of money I ask for, she eats it. If not, I eat it.

I am proud to say that we are cruising along with Daddy school and I think we are doing well.  It took me a little while to get in the swing of things, but I think I’ve got the hang of it.  We generally work for about two hours per day and then throw in a little life lessons here and there whenever they come up.

I’ve come to find the hardest part of homeschooling kindergarten is finding things to do that are not worksheets.  I make a lesson plan every day and try to use a variety of things:  games on the Internet, songs or videos from Youtube, textbooks that we bought, crafts, and of course a good amount of printed worksheets.

We have about two months left of school before the summer.  However, unfortunately for Sophia, we are not going to give her the summer off.  Last year I worked on teaching her how to read and she forgot virtually everything over the summer because I slacked off and didn’t work with her.  This year while we are at summer camp, we are still going to do some school work.  Hopefully when she enters first grade in August, she exceed our goal of being at or above where she should be academically.

Leave a Reply

