Lots of beach time and my first 5k race

There are a decent amount of beaches here where we can hang our new hammock and swing chair.

There are a decent amount of beaches here where we can hang our new hammock and swing chair.

It’s hard to believe we have been in Hawaii for almost three months.  Beth’s original contract end date is coming up, so that’s normally when we would be looking at where we are headed next.  But since we are already committed to going back to Camp Chinqueka in June, we are forced to extend here until the end of May.  I suppose we can suck it up and spend another couple of months here.  🙂

Our exploring has actually slowed down quite a bit the past couple of weeks.  We haven’t done everything there is to do on Maui, but we have hit pretty much all of the highlights.  This is where the island aspect is a bit of a negative for me.  Normally, I like to plan weekend trips and drive a few hours away.  But here we are confined on how far we can go.  At 727 square miles, Maui is actually fairly big.  But the majority of that space is taken up by the mountains and volcano and is not accessible.

The most popular thing to on Maui is go to the beach.  There are tons of beaches here and that is where we have been spending a lot of our weekends.  We bought a hammock and swing chair at a swap meet, so we try to find beaches that have trees to hang them.

Proudly displaying my medal after my first 5k road race.

Proudly displaying my medal after my first 5k road race.

On a different note, today I completed my first 5k race.  I’ve actually gotten into running quite a bit since we got here.  Normally my exercise of choice is an exercise bike, but for the past couple of months I’ve taken to running.  My normal path is a 1-mile city block right next to our apartment and I try to run 2-3 miles every other day.

I ran my first 5k length a while back, but today was my first actual race.  I got 127th place overall, but 5th in the male 30-34 division.  My time was 26:01, which is a personal best for me.  Running in an actual race was interesting.  Dodging the people who sprint past you and then quickly decide to walk was the most challenging part.  It wasn’t too bad though.

I’m not sure how long this running kick I am currently on will last.  It’s a great form of exercise, so hopefully it will stick for a while!

Leave a Reply

